Explore is a philanthropic media organization

Sunset over Naknek River

How to get the most out of Naknek River Cam

By Katmai NP Ranger Mike Fitz We’re quickly approaching prime time on the Naknek River Cam. Here’s what to look for over the next month.

Tundra - NPS photo.

Bones Don’t Lie: Evidence of a Bear’s Perseverance Through Trauma

On July 1, 2014, bear 130 Tundra was found dead near Brooks River. Since this bear was well known by rangers and the public, her skull was collected and cleaned so it could be used for educational and interpretive programs. As it turns out, Tundra’s skull reveals a biography of trauma she apparently suffered through

brown bear eating salmon in the river

Let’s Chat! “Dead Salmon and Fat Bears”

Join us for a Live Expert Chat on the #BearCam on Friday, October 10th at 3 pm – 4 pm Alaska Time; that’s 4 pm Pacific and 7 pm Eastern this Friday. Rangers Mike Fitz and Roy Wood will be answering your questions and discussing “Dead Salmon and Fat Bears.”

Ranger Mike and Special Guest, Bear Monitor Leslie Skora During Live Bear Chat

Ranger Chat Recap

In case you missed it last Friday, check out the Ranger Live Chat from the Brown Bear Cam and learn more about individual bear behavior and the changes in bear presence on the Live Cam this season.

brown bears fishing

Bear Cam Live Chat TODAY! (9/26/14)

Join us today, Friday, September 26 at 4 PM AK/5 PM PT/ 8 PM ET for a Bear Cam Live Expert Chat with with Ranger Mike and bear monitor Leslie Skora.

Load More