Explore is a philanthropic media organization

480 bear blog

Bearcam Live Events Schedule 2019

Welcome to bearcam! With a new year comes new livecam moments. Tune into the Brooks Live Events page every week for a series of curated live events hosted by explore.org’s resident naturalist, Mike Fitz.

Please make sure to check this post for updates, additions, and changes to any upcoming live events.

Welcome to Bearcam : June 25th — 1:30pm PT/ 4:30pm ET

Welcome to bearcam! Join explore.org’s resident naturalist Mike Fitz and Katmai Conservancy rangers Naomi Boak and John Koster for this live chat from Brooks River in Katmai National Park Alaska. They’ll preview the 2019 bearcam season and discuss how bears and salmon survive in a changing and competitive environment.

Hierarchy and Dominance in Brown Bears: July 1st — 11am PT/ 2pm ET

“I said move aside. This is my turf.” Living within a hierarchy helps brown bears survive a competitive world. Learn how bears establish dominance and fit into their hierarchy during this live chat with explore.org’s resident naturalist Mike Fitz and Katmai Conservancy ranger Naomi Boak.

Bear Fishing Styles: July 8th — 11am PT/ 2pm ET

For brown bears at Brooks River, fishing is an essential skill, but like many aspects of the bear world, there is no one best way to make a living. The variety of fishing techniques used by bears at Brooks River demonstrates their skill, individuality, and adaptibility. Join explore.org’s resident naturalist Mike Fitz and Katmai Conservancy ranger John Koster as they discuss how bears catch salmon at Brooks River.


Play By Plays:

July 9th – 8 pm PT / 11 pm ET

July 10th – 8 pm PT / 11 pm ET

July 13th – 8 pm PT / 11 pm ET